View Poll Results: what is expected here?

Voters
2. You may not vote on this poll
  • not aware of the ans

1 50.00%
  • please help

1 50.00%

Unanswered: Type mismatch error

Hi,

I am very new to VBA. I am trying to set a dynamic range using cells method & use the same to chart a graph, but the same fails with type mismatch error. Following is the code I am using for the same. This is a bit urgent. Please help.

Sub updateGraphSheet(inputSheet As String)

Dim rng1 As Range
    Dim rng2 As Range
    Dim iRow2 As Long
    Dim iRow1 As Long

'MsgBox (inputSheet)
    'iRow2 = Worksheets(inputSheet).UsedRange.Rows.Count
    'MsgBox (iRow2)
    iRow2 = Sheets(inputSheet).Range("d65536").End(xlUp).Row
    'iRow2 = LastRow(Sheets(inputSheet))
    'iRow2 = 34
    'iRow2 = inputSheet.Range("d65536").End(xlUp).Row
    iRow1 = 4

Set rng1 = Sheets(inputSheet).Range(Sheets(inputSheet).Cells( iRow1, "a"), Sheets(inputSheet).Cells(iRow2, "a")) ' this is where the error occurs

Set rng2 = Sheets(inputSheet).Range(Sheets(inputSheet).Cells( iRow1, "b"), Sheets(inputSheet).Cells(iRow2, "b"))

Worksheets(2).ChartObjects("Set1_FAP").Activate
    ActiveChart.SeriesCollection(1).XValues = rng1
    ActiveChart.SeriesCollection(1).Values = rng2

End Sub

Have a nose here:
    Spreadsheet Page Excel Tips: Referring To Ranges In Your VBA Code
    Notice anything different what you supply to the CELLS property compared to on here? HINT - the error message gives you the answer.

I can't directly reproduce the error with the code posted! Passing a string representing a column letter into the column parameter is valid.

The only way I could get a type mismatch was by passing a non-numeric (could not be coerced to a valid row number) string into the row parameter, but I don't see how that could happen within the code on the thread. When the error occurs I'd suggest you check the values of iRow1 and iRow2 in the locals window.

Thanks for your help!!

I could figure out the problem.

Hi legg,