Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    265

    Unanswered: Online backup with compress option

    Hi,

    I just tried an online backup of our database ( around 67GB in size) with the 'COMPRESS' option.. here is the command --

    time db2 backup database dbname online to /path1/path2 COMPRESS include logs

    The backup image came out to be 22GB in size.. def. a big drop from the original. Do I need to give any other keyword when I restore the database from the Compressed image? Or will the regular command that I run to restore work... here is the command that I usually run ---

    db2 restore db dbname from /path1/path2/ taken at logtarget /home/db2inst/logs/ REPLACE EXISTING

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    No, you do not need to include any reference to compression when you restore if you used the default compression library (you did) during backup.

    Sometimes, when you restore to different DB2 release, it can casue a problem in this regard, but it can be fixed in those cases. This only occurs in certain situaitons, and not every different release.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    Side question. Shop where I am right now does not do db backups. So, it has been a while for me. Looking at the info provided by original poster is it safe to say that COMPRESS option would cut db image by 1/3 of db size as a general rule? I know noone can guaranty it, but what is the avg expectation?

    Thank you
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by Cougar8000 View Post
    Side question. Shop where I am right now does not do db backups. So, it has been a while for me. Looking at the info provided by original poster is it safe to say that COMPRESS option would cut db image by 1/3 of db size as a general rule? I know noone can guaranty it, but what is the avg expectation?

    Thank you
    Compress option will usually cut size of backup image by more than a third.

    Not sure what you mean by "Shop where I am right now does not do db backups." Does that mean someone else does them for you, or does it mean you have a standing job offer from another company any thime you want it?
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by Marcus_A View Post
    Compress option will usually cut size of backup image by more than a third.

    Not sure what you mean by "Shop where I am right now does not do db backups." Does that mean someone else does them for you, or does it mean you have a standing job offer from another company any thime you want it?
    I am not sure how much more I should go into it

    Thank you for the sizing info
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Cool.. No alerts for backup failures in the middle of the night ..

    Quote Originally Posted by Cougar8000 View Post
    Shop where I am right now does not do db backups.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •