Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: getting rid of Access 2007 GUI

i have nearly completed my database and i want to view it as an application alone now - its nothing major just a small db. when i click on the file (my database file) i dont want to see access 2007 open with all the access options - i want just my db to open - how do i get rid of all the access 2007 stuff?

im new to macros and vba by yhr way

These examples work with MSAccess 2003 but I'm not sure about 2007: http://www.dbforums.com/6301669-post51.html

One of the examples removes all of the MSAccess Menus and information and shows just the form. But again, I'm not sure how it works with 2007. Perhaps you can make it work.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

Thanks for this

ive downloaded the samples but im not sure what to do with them! - its just a database form?

I believe this is really seriously involved in 2007. I looked in to this in Excel and my jaw dropped at what was required. I seem to recall it involving some writing some bespoke XML fragments (in another tool) and inserting this in to the 2007 file XML.

If it is the same for Access then this is a serious undertaking.

I would certainly recommend googling around - I'm not all that involved in this forum any more but it seems that most of the regular respondents don't really use 2007 much.

Thanks pootle flump - what would i google though - ive tried "getting rid of access 2007 toolbars" etc but google doesnt seem to understand exactly what i want....

It is called the "ribbon" in office 2007

Provided Answers: 1
    You know, the GUI and everything that can be created with the GUI is what makes Access a decent utility...

If you just need a straight-up database with no forms/reports/etc, you may want to consider using a different product. Have you given any thought to going the way of SQL Express/MySQL/etc?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.