Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Table Layout Help

I'm a music teacher who teaches an average of 50 students at a time. I'm trying to build a database track contact info, invoice students, and track attendance. I'm starting off with the contact portion of the database and once that is done I'll move on to the rest. I'm using Access 2007 and I'm a total noob to databases. I'm looking for some insight into my design thus far before I start creating relationships and entering data.

tblstudent - studentID, studentfirst, studentlast, gender, age (adult, teen, or child), lessonday, status (current or retired)

tbladdress - addressID, address, city, province, postalcode, studentid, guardianid

tblphone - phoneid, phonenum, extension, phlocation, studentid, guardianid

tblemail - emailid email, emailLocation, studentid, guardianid

tblgaurdian gaurdianid, gaurdianfirst, gaurdianlast, relationship, studentid

Here's a few notes:

Adult students don't have guardians
    Students with divorced parents may have 2 addresses and 4 Guardians.
    Most parents have 2 emails and phone numbers
    Some young students may provide their own phone and email

That's it, thanks in advance

What's the point in the gaurdian table? How does it help you in your business? Can a single gaurdian have more than one student enrolled at a time?

Which table "owns" an email? How do the relationships work in your system?

Which table "owns" an address? How do you intend to use it?

How do you envision using a phone? It isn't clear to me what purpose this table serves, but that might be because you need to explain more about how you intend to use it.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

I need to track the parents of my students in my contact list, so that's why I have a guardian table. A guardian can have more than one student.