Unanswered: UNIX group questions

I think it is a right group for this question.

Can one UNIX group be part of another UNIX group?

How can two UNIX groups have the same id? Why is it allowed and what is the purpose?

This is on AIX 5.3. I am a UDB DBA so, if I said something wacky, be nice
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

Provided Answers: 1
    Ownership of files is based on owner, group, and other.
    Owners are listed in /etc/passwd, and groups are listed in /etc/group.
    Users can be members of more than one group.
    I did a little experimenting, and a file belongs to the first group found that has the group number that is recorded in the inode entry.
    From the man page for group, NIS (network information services) can be added by group, so that group1 on machine A can be added as group on machine B just by adding +group1 to the entry on machine B.

Quote Originally Posted by Cougar8000 View Post
    I think it is a right group for this question.

Can one UNIX group be part of another UNIX group?
    No. There is no "parent" field in the /etc/group file. See man 5 group, it'll show the fields in your system.

How can two UNIX groups have the same id? Why is it allowed and what is the purpose?
    The Unices I've used (Solaris, BSD, Linux) don't allow it, but it can probably happen; Unix will let you shoot yourself in the foot and happily reload for you.

The /etc/group and /etc/passwd files are just a flat file listing all the group and user names and their ids. The thought was you don't want to store the whole name with each file, so you store the id number instead.