Question Unanswered: Normalizing imported excel data

I'm very new to Access, so bear with me.

We currently have a simple excel spreadsheet that contain error reasons for various pieces of equipment. This spread sheet is to be imported weekly into Access 2007. The error codes are listed vertically and the pieces of equipment horizontally, with the # of errors at the intersection of the column and row.

Code:
                           Machine 1   Machine 2
    Error Reason 1         1               3
    Error Reason 2         2               8
    Error Reason 3         0               4

Importing this into Access has been easy, however I would like to find an automated way to replace the error reasons with a foreign key to a "Error Reason" table. The types of error reasons may grow in the future. I was curious as to how this is done? Is there an automatic way to have Access do this (Lookup tables?) or will this require a macro to be written and ran?

Thanks for any direction / help anyone can provide. I'm new to Access and just starting to wrap my mind around it.

Grrrr. Damned forum ate my first post.

Short of it is: what you are describing is not normalisation. Funnily enough, your table is not normalised, but for different reasons.

Normalised design:
    Code:
    error_reason           machine_number     error_count
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    Error Reason 1         1                  1
    Error Reason 2         1                  2
    Error Reason 3         1                  0
    Error Reason 1         2                  3
    Error Reason 2         2                  8
    Error Reason 3         2                  4
    Note that you would probably not include the red line since the information can be inferred by its absence.