Unanswered: Help Deriving a Field

So I'm new to Access and need to build a database for a small business. The business provides items to various dealers. I have set up tables so that the "items" table has product cost and "item_orders" table has quantity.

The problem comes in the "orders" table that has a field called Total_Cost which should calculate the total order price by multiplying PRICE times QUANTITY.
    I need to know how to make this Total_Cost field multiply the other two fields - How do I do this?

I have read that it is unadvised to have a derived field inside a table and that I should only do this operation in a query. However, with that thinking, old orders data would become invalid whenever the price of an item changes.

Provided Answers: 6
    It is pretty common to store the price applicable to a given sale along with quantity in the orders table. An alternative is to have a price table that includes effective dates, but most prices are too volatile for that to be practical.
    Paul

Can you give me a brief tutorial on how to do this? Not sure how to set the automatic field value to be Cost*Quantity.

Provided Answers: 6
    As you've said, you don't put a calculated field in the table. In a query, form or report you multiply quantity times price.
    Paul

It is pretty common to store the price applicable to a given sale along with quantity in the orders table
    Please explain this.

you don't put a calculated field in the table.
    Okay. But then how do you store historic order costs in the query? Doesn't the query recalculate all order costs including historic ones where an item price may have changed - therefore rendering it useless data?
    Last edited by sirrip; 05-08-10 at 06:18.

Provided Answers: 19
    You've answered your own question by quoting Paul!