Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Autonumber

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    267

    Unanswered: Autonumber

    Does anyone know if you have an AutoNumber field in a table if it will ever use 0 (zero)?

    C

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    601
    Quote Originally Posted by canupus View Post
    Does anyone know if you have an AutoNumber field in a table if it will ever use 0 (zero)?

    C
    I have never tried. Do you it to use zero ( 0 )?
    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach HiTechCoach.com (free access stuff)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    BPM/Accounting Systems/Inventory Control/CRM
    Programming: Nine different ways to do it right, a thousand ways to do it wrong.
    Binary--it's as easy as 1-10-11

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    267
    I don't need it to use 0. I was going to do something with 0 if I knew that AutoNumber would never use it.

    C

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5,442
    Provided Answers: 14
    If the NewValues property is set to Increment in the table definition form, the first record inserted into the table will always have a value of 1 by default and it can only grow.
    Have a nice day!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Exactly what are you talking about doing here? I ask because there is very little that should be done using Autonumbers. Their sole role in Access is to serve as a unique record identifier, and used as such by Access, in the background.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Yes. Access doesn't expose this, but the JET\ ACE engines will accept parameters for an autonumber. For example:
    Code:
    ALTER Table autos ALTER id AUTOINCREMENT(-7337, 937)
    Under the covers an autonumber is a Long Integer, so any valid Long Integer is possible.

    EDIT - the increment can also be negative, so you could start at the end of the range and work downwards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •