Unanswered: Text Box/Combo Box Visibility (again)

Ran into another roadblock. Tab 1 has the combo box VEH_TYPE and text box PILOT. Tab 2 has the text box BODY_MANF_NMBR. I need the BODY# to be visible for multiple choices. Here is what I have:

Private Sub VEH_TYPE_AfterUpdate()
    Me.PILOT.Visible = (Left(Me.VEH_TYPE, 11) = "fire engine")
    Me.BODY_MANUF_NMBR.Visible = (Left(Me.VEH_TYPE, 11) = "fire engine")
    Me.BODY_MANUF_NMBR.Visible = (Left(Me.VEH_TYPE, 3) = "c.c.v.")
    End Sub

I swear it worked at first, and then I went to distribute it and of course it decided to only partially work (secretly, I think the program has it out for me...). PILOT is working correctly. BODY_MANF_NMBR is visible when "c.c.v." is chosen, but not when "fire engine" is chosen. As I am still new to this code writing thing, am I missing a phrase/command somewhere?

Thanks in advance :-)

Provided Answers: 6
    Well, logically if it's fire engine then it's not c.c.v. In other words, the second line will cancel out the first. Perhaps

Me.BODY_MANUF_NMBR.Visible = (Left(Me.VEH_TYPE, 11) = "fire engine") OR (Left(Me.VEH_TYPE, 3) = "c.c.v.")
    Paul

Thanks! I had tried the OR before, but was putting the whole string instead of just the additional "Left". Good to know!

The length of "c.c.v." is 6 not 3.

So you will need to use:

Left(Me.VEH_TYPE, 6) = "c.c.v."
    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach HiTechCoach.com (free access stuff)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    BPM/Accounting Systems/Inventory Control/CRM
    Programming: Nine different ways to do it right, a thousand ways to do it wrong.
    Binary--it's as easy as 1-10-11

The "." was for the benefit of the post. If I type c.c.v. without the "." it come out like this ***

Quote Originally Posted by SRR View Post
    The "." was for the benefit of the post. If I type c.c.v. without the "." it come out like this ***