The customers they are a'changing

Hi there.

Working as an analyst I often find myself doing adhoc queries on quite large amounts of data. The goal is often to find out some pattern to movements in our customer base or to track other changes over time.

I'm not looking for some definitive answers (not sure there are any) but if you guys can point me in some direction or offer some insights about other ways to go about this it would be greatly appreciated.

I work in Telecommunications and my main areas of interests are calls, products/services and revenues and how they relate to our customers and how they change over time.

Example

For a given month I have aggregated call data (millions of rows) and customer ids. A hypothetical table definition could look like:

Code:
    CREATE TABLE calls (First_day_of_month (Date)
    					,CustomerID (Int)
    					,Call_Seconds (Int))
    The combination of First_day_of_month and CustomerID is unique.

A typical question I would like to answer is, for each month how many customers called more than they did last month? For the last two years.

What I end up doing is something like (pseudocodish):
    Code:
    SELECT calls1.First_day_of_month
    	,COUNT(calls1.CustomerID) AS Number_of_customers_calling_more
    FROM calls calls1
    	INNER JOIN calls calls2
    		ON calls1.First_day_of_month = DATEADD(calls2.First_day_of_month, MONTH, 1)
    			AND calls1.CustomerID = calls2.CustomerID
    WHERE calls1.Call_Seconds > calls2.Call_Seconds
    AND calls1.First_day_of_month >= CAST('2008-01-01' AS DATETIME)
    What I'm doing is joining the calls table on itself on customer ids and month but changing the specific month on one of the tables to reflect the time period I'm interested in tracking changes over.