Unanswered: Searching for last instance of a substring and copying what follows

Hi all,

I am rather new to the use of SQL and Access, and am not sure how to go about solving this problem. I am using Access 2007 and need to search for the last address listed in a field called FORMERADDR. Multiple addresses are listed in each cell, separated by ';'. Therefore I would need to find the last instance of ';' and copy the string that follows, then insert that address into another field. I think that this can be done with some combination of the right and instr functions, but can not seem to figure it out. Thank you all in advance for the help.

Brad

I'm sure there's an easier way, but, here's what pops into my brain first:

dim x as integer
    dim CharLoc as byte
    dim LastAddress as String

for x = 1 to len(FormerAddr)
    if mid(formeraddr, x,1) = ";" then
    CharLoc = x
    end if
    next x

lastAddress = trim(mid(FormerAddr, CharLoc + 1, (len(FormrAddr - CharLoc)))

Certainly not elegant, but, should get the job done

Sam
    Last edited by SCrandall; 05-25-10 at 16:17. Reason: Made a whoops
    Good, fast, cheap...Pick 2.

Quote Originally Posted by blingenf View Post
    Hi all,

I am rather new to the use of SQL and Access, and am not sure how to go about solving this problem. I am using Access 2007 and need to search for the last address listed in a field called FORMERADDR. Multiple addresses are listed in each cell, separated by ';'. Therefore I would need to find the last instance of ';' and copy the string that follows, then insert that address into another field. I think that this can be done with some combination of the right and instr functions, but can not seem to figure it out. Thank you all in advance for the help.

Brad
    Brad,

The trick is to use InStrRev()

? Mid("Address1;Address2;Addres3",InStrRev("Address1 ;Address2;Addres3",";")+1)

Addres3

To use Sam's code, I would probably create a custom function.