Unanswered: Sybase Installtion Error - Solaris 10

Hi..

I'm mahesh working as Sybase consultant from past 2 years..And it's my first try installing Sybase Developer Editon in my PC having OS "Unix Solaris 10"...

But I'm getting below error while installing the Sybase ASE 15 ..

I downloaded this from Sybase website..

$ ./setup.bin -i console
    Preparing to install...
    ./setup.bin: !: not found
    Extracting the JRE from the installer archive...
    Unpacking the JRE...
    Extracting the installation resources from the installer archive...
    Configuring the installer for this system's environment...

Launching installer...

./setup.bin: /tmp/install.dir.1193/Solaris/resource/jre/bin/java: cannot execute
    $ ./setup.bin
    Preparing to install...
    ./setup.bin: !: not found
    Extracting the JRE from the installer archive...
    Unpacking the JRE...
    Extracting the installation resources from the installer archive...
    Configuring the installer for this system's environment...

Launching installer...

./setup.bin: /tmp/install.dir.1297/Solaris/resource/jre/bin/java: cannot execute

Not sure where I went wrong..

I followed the below and start Installing in sybsase directory..

mkdir -p /opt/sybase
    mkdir -p /var/sybase
    groupadd sybase
    useradd -g sybase -d /opt/sybase sybase
    chown sybase:sybase /opt/sybase
    chown sybase:sybase /var/sybase

Also could some one help the installtion procedure for Sybase ASE 15 in Unix Solaris 10..

Thank you in advance...

- Mahesh

Provided Answers: 1
    I am not aware of an ASE 15 developer edition available for Solaris x86
    Are you perhaps trying to install ASE for Solaris sparc on Solaris x86?

Yep pdreyer its Solaris sparc on Solaris x86...Could you pls help on above issue

Provided Answers: 1
    The two are not compatible. The one uses big endian (sparc) and the other little endian (x86) architecture. You'll have to contact Sybase sales rep to buy a copy of Sybase for Solaris x86