Unanswered: Locking Specific Records- ACCESS 2007

Hi,

We use our ACCESS database for data entry purposes, and since our database is split, meaning many users are constantly updating and adding new data, changing things, etc. I would like to be able to lock individual records once that record is 100% accurate and finalized so no one messes with it or deletes it by accident!

Is there a way to have a check box in the form or in the table that once checked "locks" the record so no one is able to delete or update it?

I am assuming it would be some code like:

Formname.Checkbox = true [locked] ?? I tried something this and of course it doesn't work! I am a beginner so bare with!

Thanks for your help in advance,

Jenny

Quote Originally Posted by JennyD View Post
    Hi,

We use our ACCESS database for data entry purposes, and since our database is split, meaning many users are constantly updating and adding new data, changing things, etc. I would like to be able to lock individual records once that record is 100% accurate and finalized so no one messes with it or deletes it by accident!

Is there a way to have a check box in the form or in the table that once checked "locks" the record so no one is able to delete or update it?

I am assuming it would be some code like:

Formname.Checkbox = true [locked] ?? I tried something this and of course it doesn't work! I am a beginner so bare with!

Thanks for your help in advance,

Jenny
    Jenny,

Yes, it is possible.

I actually lock all records. The user has to use a Edit button to unlock the record to make changes.

This has to be handled at the form level.

In your case, I would use a data/time field that holds the date using Date(), or Date and time using Now(), if needed, to mark a record was finalized.

I like to use the date over a check box since it provided a lot more detail.

If you want a check box to show, then you can calculate it from the date field and not even show the date.