Help with Table Design

Hello,

I am fairly new to DB design, and have come across an issue with my first "live" DB.

I will try to explain this in the best way I can...

The DB holds temperature readings from remote temperature probes. I have 6 sites, and 6 departments on each site.

Staff that use the front end web site will be presented with a page that allows them to "subscribe" to receive email alerts for temperature readings for particular departments on particular sites. They may want one or two departments readings for one or two sites or they may want more, meaning that there is a large number of combinations of options they may choose.

I assume one option would be to have a column for each site/deparment combination and have "Y/N" ie

UserId
    Site1Dept1 Y
    Site1Dept2 N
    Site2Dept1 Y
    Site2Dept2 Y

But this doesn't seem very neat or efficient. Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks!

from your explanation, it would appear that a department belongs to a site

so a user subscribes to a department, and not to a department/site, because the department determines which site it is (unless the same department can belong to more than one site

so you would record which users have subscribed to which departments

the table would have two columns:

user1 dept4
    user1 dept6
    user1 dept9
    user2 dept9
    user3 dept3
    user3 dept7
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

If you're new to databases then there are quite a few concepts to get your head around before diving into this. There are many ways you can achieve what you're trying to do. I made a diagram to show you how I would build the database for your system: http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/3235/exampleg.jpg

Each department belongs to a site. You can see that the > indicates that a site can have many departments, and the | indicates that a department can only belong to one site.
    The user table stores the information for users who log into the website.