Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Stock Market Database

Hello all, I have been tasked to design a database for a small private equity firm. I have very little experience in designing databases, but I did basic SQL and have got a grasp of programming. I'm a quick learner and have been given enough time to learn, design and build up the database.

Basically the database, should encompass all Oil & Gas independent companies. To start with they want the 70 odd companies that they are following. The list of requirements for it are as follows:

Market Info
    Company name
    Listing
    Code name
    Currency
    Share Price, last close
    Change %
    24 month High - date
    24 month low - date
    Price Chart (Graph showing trend)
    Free float (Shares outstanding)
    Avg. Volume

Asset Info
    Countries where they have assets
    Concessions
    etc

Financial Info
    Sales
    Rates

Documentation
    Press Releases
    Analyst review
    Market Research
    (Basically any old & new news related articles that are relevant to a company)

CEP Review
    CEP Valuation
    (This is basically the companies own index with which they judge how a company has been performing based on a formula)

There are 3 main objectives that need to be achieved at the end with this database. There is a daily market update which needs to be provided at the end of each day; this is for the 70 companies that are on the portfolio being followed by the firm, it would include most of the information in the Market info table plus the CEP review. The second would be to be able to pull up all the data for a single company at any time. Thirdly would be able to come up with a comparison graph showing the performance of two or more different companies.