Unanswered: SQL Server 2008 - Can not start the service ...

Hello there,
    I am a complete newbie in MSSQL 2008. I have installed SQL server 2008 SP1. But here is the problem -

Whenever I tried to start up the "SQLServer" Process it gives me the following error -
    "Window cannot start the SQL server "SQLEXPRESS" on local computer. For more information review the System event log."
    So I opened system event log window and found that SQLserver process can not run due to the following problem -
    FCB::Open failed: Could not open file e:\sql10_main_t\sql\mkmastr\databases\objfre\i386\ model.mdf for file number 1. OS error: 3(The system cannot find the path specified.).
    FCB::Open failed: Could not open file e:\sql10_main_t\sql\mkmastr\databases\objfre\i386\ MSDBData.mdf for file number 1. OS error: 3(The system cannot find the path specified.).
    I can see that the service is searching for the core database to function properly. But I have installed my SQL database in "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\". Why does it searching for the database files in "e:\" drive

It would really help if someone can give me some direction or hints where the error could be ... I have tried hard but still clueless

Sorry for my English, Thanks in advance.

Provided Answers: 11
    The Data files for a SQL Server instance can be installed to a separate path from the executable files. It generally better to not install your data files on the C:\ drive, where they will be fighting the paging file for disk access. If this is just a test instance, that is not so much of a big deal, though. Have you done a search of the machine to find where model.mdf is? Why does it look like there is a space right before the filename in your errors?

Quote Originally Posted by MCrowley View Post
    Why does it look like there is a space right before the filename in your errors?
    I think that is the forum software. Observez: