Thread: Career advice

Career advice

I am needing some professional career advice.

First, my background: I have many years of self-taught experience with developing and managing databases (starting with dBaseIII+ in early '80's and into SQL Server 2005), but I do not have a technical degree. Furthermore, my experience has been in libraries and research, not in business or formal IT departments. However, I believe data modeling is where my passion lies and I am at a point where I need to decide how best to get there. I have been pursuing advanced degrees in public health, but I have lost interest, largely because I do not see a future for me in research and there isn't much in informatics where I live (it's not in Atlanta, DC or a state capital). I currently work as a statistician for a clinical trial, but my position is being reduced to 50% in the next few months, so now is the time to make the change.

My current skills are creating & maintaining moderately large databases using SQL Server 2005 and MS Access. I also have experience using XML to integrate data from multiple resources. In creating the databases and the programs to interface with them, I have used UML to model data and processes. I have used Visio to graphically represent the models, but I don't have experience with formal data modeling tools (e.g. Erwin). I have developed and written specs & requirements based on user-driven application development. I have programmed interfaces in ColdFusion and VBA (for Access interfaces).

My career goal is data modeling - I really enjoyed evaluating systems and processes, breaking down their data elements, defining the data, and creating or implementing new systems. My library experience & education provided me with the foundations of metadata (that is what a catalog is, anyhow).