Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Unanswered: BMC2 mainframe tool

    Can you use BMC to create a full blown test system from a production DB2 backup? Migration?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    32
    Don, some more clues are needed...

    - what BMC product are you using?

    - How did you obtain the backup?

    - Did you backup only the db2 catalog and directory or the user data too ?

    - How many 3390 dasd your db2 and user data span?

    Thanks, Don.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Bmc

    BMC Administrative products (V8.2) for DB2 V7
    BMC R-Plus/Change Accum (V5.2)
    BMC Log Master for DB2 (4.2)
    BMC Recovery Manager (V5.2)


    backups are done using BMC Plus

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    32
    Don, I'm afraid that you cannot generate a new db2 instance with 'one shot' with the BMC tools.

    I think that the shortest way is restoring the backup objects with another alias, changing the VCAT related informations in BSDS, regenerating the dsnzparm for the new subsystem and creating new storage groups with the new VCAT for the user objects.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Bmc

    Ok, thanks.

    Basically I want to build a test system from production.

    Do you do anything like this at your site?

    Thanks again,
    Don

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    32
    Yes, Don, we do.

    Briefly, we follow the following steps:

    - Stop DB2
    - Backup of db2 subsystem and user data
    - Restore with new name (if needed)
    - DSNJU003 to change the names of vcat and active logs
    - Update of procs in proclib
    - Insert new application environments in wlm
    - Creation of new storage groups with new VCAT and new volumes
    - Drop and create of DSDB07 temporary tablespaces with the new names

    Of course i suggest to do some tests before creating the "gold" test subsystem.

    Just a note... migrating to version 9, the VCAT handling is much more easier

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    32
    Ah, and creation of a new zparm, of course

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    BMC tools

    Thanks for you reply.

    I'm not a DBA. Should a DB2 DBA be knowledge enough to execute the steps you've outlined?

    How long would you estimate the process take?

    Thanks again,
    Don

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    32
    Yes, I'm sure your DBA can easily perform those steps.

    The process time depends above all on the quantity of data you have to backup/restore.

    Good Luck, Don.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs up Restore

    Sorry, I have a dumb question? Are your steps describing a BMC or conventional restore?

    Our database contains over 700 tables with a few tables containing several million rows. I need to convince management that a restore is much easier and quicker than recontructing a test database using all its production tables. So is it possible to give me a rough estimate of time the restore would take?

    Thanks again!
    Don

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    32
    Well, the tool you use to backup / restore the system is not important.

    You may use ADRDSSU or BMC routines, the important is that at the end of the process you can obtain a full copy of the primitive subsystem.

    We spent a couple of days to create a new subsystem, but at first we spent some days to create and test a reliable procedure and this is what i feel like to suggest before convincing the management.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13

    build a test system

    First of all thank you for the information you have provided me.

    Since I'm not a DBA, is there anyway I can explain in layman's terms, what I propose to do (which is your suggestions) to management. Our currect process for building a test sytem is unloading and loading each of the 700 plus tables from prod to test. It's taken a month to clean up the errors on our second test build. It seems to me to be resource extensive and kind of ludicrous


    Thaniss!
    Don

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •