Hi. I've been asked to a) build a site for a business and b) build a reasonably complex database for a business.

I was asked to build the site ages ago....and so I set out with the intention of learning PHP and MySQL to make a database driven site....The learning process is going alright but I haven't actually started yet.

Then I got asked to make this database. I've had some experience with Access a few years ago so I thought I could handle it. I don't currently own any DB software so my first step to creating this database is to:
1) Purchase the appropriate software.

This is dependent on my needs which I will now explain. The database needs at first glance to have two tables...one for products and all their information (including two or three images of the products) and one for the customers and information regarding them. These tables need to be linked to show which customers buy which products....also I would like a way to go through the products which a customer isn't currently buying and 'tick' new products off which the customer might be interested in...then to send them this line of products for them to look at. I would also like to send some kind of 'news letter' to the customers showing new products.

So the question is...which software, if any, allows me to do all this? Help here is appreciated...