Unanswered: Trapping Error Messages before Rollback

Hi,

I am using SQL Server 2k. I have a situation where I have several stored procedures and I wish to be notified when there is an error w/ a given statement within a procedure. I wish to apply this concept to all the procedures. I am a bit new to error handling. I understand the concept of @@Error for the most part. I would like to run a procedure that can have say 15 statements, they are inserts, updates, create temp tables, etc, capture any errors and rollback if those errors exist. I am to understand however that anything between the begin transaction and the rollback transaction commands will be rolled back including triggers and any method of capturing the errors so I am a bit stuck. I wanted to get the error, and the statement number, as I have numbered all the statements in the procedures, and insert them into an error report table. I wish to rollback the procedure upon failure so I can go back and run the statements step by step in an effort to make fixes. I am thinking of using DTS to run a procedure, then send out the error history report via email to myself and THEN roll back the procedure if there are any records in the error history report that way I know which statements have errors prior to the error history being wiped out w/ a rollback. Would this be a good approach? I am going to use DTS anyway to automate the running of the procedures anyway as these procedures check for new files on our system and process them automatically if they are new files.

Also is there a way to capture the error text ie "Primary Key Violation......etc"?

Thanks.

ddave

Sorry - with SQL 2K you are a bit stuffed. There isn't really error handling as such in SQL 2k - testing for @@error is about your limit.

There is no such thing as a truly nested transaction, so you will need to log your errors after the rollback. This also means that any success logging you perform during the transaction is lost.