Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Question Unanswered: Subform Data Display.

    I have a main input form where records are added to the database, on the input form are two subforms, where addtional data is added as required. The links master and child links are all conected by a job number and the input data does populate the correct tables. Any ideas why the data is not visible on the subforms when you add a new record and then go back to another record?

    Any help would be gratefully appreciated. Cel504.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Is this for Access?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Subforms not displaying data.

    Yes, sorry this relates to an Access Database.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Moved to Access forum
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Subform display.

    Many thanks for your reply. However, any ideas on how to get the data to remain displayed in the subform, when the main forms is reviewed?

    Cel504

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Nope - not really my thing. However you are in the right forum now so someone is likely to come along soon.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Are you sure you have the field from the relational table (which joins the 2 tables) on the subform(s) and have it's default value set to something like:

    =Forms!MyMainForm!MainID

    Linking the subform to mainform doesn't always tell it what value to put in for the relational field.

    If you look at the relational tables, is this value blank? That would explain why the record doesn't show on the subform.

    See Page 6 or 7 in the Code bank (the part on optimizing subforms) if you need more help.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •