Unanswered: Need help debugging performance issue

We have this large enterprise system we purchased and are having performance issues when it comes to the database. One thing in particular about this DB is that it is very normalized. Currently there are over 12,000 tables. To bring things back into a comprehensible state, they use 2100 views. Only the direct updates to the DB take place at the table level. We're also at around 160 GB for the full DB.

The main data-mining piece for users is their "query tool". All the views are registered with the system and a hierarchical relationship is defined. This query tool works with that and presents the user a simplistic way to build out queries and gather information. But, the SQL it produces is less than stellar most of the time. A lot of my job is spent reworking the SQL it produces and finding some way to present that to a user. I'm a programmer, and my query skills only go so far. My DBA skills go even less. I've come to a place where I am stumped.

Here is a query that it produces:

Code:
    /* works somewhat quickly, 522 rows in 30 seconds. */

select distinct 
          [CONSTITUENTGROUPS].[KEYNAME] as [Household name], 
          [CONSTITUENT].[LOOKUPID] as [Lookup ID], 
          [CONSTITUENTMARKETING].[NAME] as [Name], 
          [REVENUE].[LOOKUPID] as [Revenue ID], 
          [REVENUERECOGNITION].[TYPE] as [Revenue Type], 
          [REVENUE].[AMOUNT] as [Amount], 
          [REVENUE].[DATE] as [Date], 
          [REVENUE].[TRANSACTIONTYPE] as [Transaction type], 
          [REVENUESPLIT].[APPLICATION] as [Application], 
          [CONSTITUENTMARKETING].[CONSTITUENTID] as [QUERYRECID] 
     from [V_QUERY_CONSTITUENTMARKETING] as [CONSTITUENTMARKETING] 
          left outer join [V_QUERY_CONSTITUENT] as [CONSTITUENT] on [CONSTITUENTMARKETING].[CONSTITUENTID] = [CONSTITUENT].[ID]