CREATE TABLE Category (
    [CategoryID] [tinyint] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,
    [Title] [nvarchar](32) NOT NULL,
    [Description] [nvarchar](64) NULL,
    [SmIcon] [varbinary](max) NULL,
    [LgIcon] [varbinary](max) NULL,
    CONSTRAINT [PK_Category_CategoryID] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
    )

Each event in table Event can only belong to one category. Based on this type in table Event, I want to populate the appropriate corresponding table with the details (EventJournal and EventDream). But before I insert records into the appropriate table, I want to check that the other table does not already have a record for that particular EventID. EventID is used in Event, EventJournal, and EventDream to reference a particular post.

I'm pretty new to databases (I'm using Microsoft SQL Server 2008) and saw some stuff on checks, assertions, and triggers, but I don't even know where to start. I tried using a check:

check (( Select count(*) from EventDream where EventDream.EventID) = 0)

but SQL Server Management Studio said that I couldn't use subqueries in checks. Can anyone throw me a bone?

It is certainly in BoL, and I think it is in the CHECK constraint definition, but you can use a scalar function in a check constraint. As such you can you move your query to the scalar function and it will be allowed.

Quote Originally Posted by jeff0000 View Post
    But before I insert records into the appropriate table, I want to check that the other table does not already have a record for that particular EventID. EventID is used in Event, EventJournal, and EventDream to reference a particular post.

I'm pretty new to databases (I'm using Microsoft SQL Server 2008)
    However, I would be interested in knowing what you mean by the above. By definition you do not need to check this - your EventID is defined as a primary key so cannot exist anywhere assuming of course that you have set up the appropriate foreign keys.