Unanswered: SQL1224N when max_log < total active utilisation?

Hi,

A bit of a DB2 noob here. I've a "black box" DB2 v9.5.0.4 enterprise ed instance used by a TSM 6.1.3.4 server (on RHEL 5.5). Yep, I'm a storage admin who's keen to understand what's going on with a backup server.

My question may well boil down to: what is the definition of an "active log"?

The scenario

The DB2 instance is configured in rollforward mode. logarchmeth1 is configured as a disk based method (i.e. bung 'em in a directory over *there*). Under normal operating conditions pretty much as soon as an active log extent fills it is copied out into the archive log directory...and the primary extent is recycled.

The application (TSM) is running a large transaction. The total transaction size exceeds the defined number of primary log extents (15x 512 MiB in my case, or 7680 MiB).

The application detects that the primary log space is nearly exhausted and runs what it terms to be an incremental database backup.

While this long-running transaction executes each active log extent is copied to the archive log directory as per normal operating procedure (the db2 log manager, I guess) - but the active log extent is not recycled (from what I understand it is still required for crash recovery).

However - once the application initiated incremental backup has finished the active log extents *have* been recycled. This was confirmed by looking at the snapdetaillog.

The ringer though - the long running transaction (which persisted through the incremental backup) terminates with SQL1224N. At this point only around half of the first (and current) active log extent is full. LOG_MAX is set to 90% of primary space (i.e. 13.5ish of 15 extents).

The double-ringer with cheese - although the transaction aborted...*it didn't rollback*.

The question(s)