Unanswered: Access 2007 Query and Subform assistance..

Hi All..

I'm fairly new to Access and vba, the problem or logic i'm trying to solve is how to filter results in a subform based on a date selected in the main form?

At present I have one table "tblEvents" and in particular field "ProgDate" is the date field to be searched on.

I've created a query "qryEventsSimpleview" to return a selected result set..
    SELECT tblEvents.ProgNo, tblEvents.ProgDetails AS [Programme Details], tblEvents.ProgDate AS [Programme Date], tblEvents.ProgStart AS [Programme Start Time], tblEvents.ProgBookedBy AS [Booked By], tblEvents.ProgComments AS [Programme Comments]
    FROM tblEvents;

Also i've a form "frmchkbooking" with a calendar "bookingcal", ("Calendar Control 12.0" to select a date), a button "btn_chkdate" with a onclick event to paste date value into a text box.. and a subform "Child11" with source object "Query.qryEventsSimpleview"

There are no common fileds between the two forms so linking would not work (i think..)

At present the subform query is returing all the rows from the table, how would I now get the query to filter on the date selected once I click the button?

Kind Regards...
    Last edited by Sarb_uk; 07-31-10 at 13:04. Reason: small edit

Madison, WI
    I might consider a popup form instead of embedding a subform into a main form which doesn't link on any fields to the main form (if you have a fairly large recordset, this would slow down the performance of the main form having it return all records in the subform.)

But you could create a 2nd subform (ie. Child12 although I'd have a better name). This subform could have a recordsource which has criteria in it where the date field is equal to the date field on the main form (ie. "Select * from myTableName where MyDateField = #" & Forms!MyMainFormName!DateTextFieldName & "#")