Unanswered: Creating a command button that will add a date to my record

I am a novice who understands the database concepts. I have a form with a sub form that uses a date in the sub form. I want to add a command button that will add a date record in the sub form by me only pressing the button. Can someone help with the right code to accomplish this task.

I'm tracking multiple forms that come in for the same user but on different dates. Everytime a form comes in I want to press the button and that date shows up on that record.

Not sure I fully understand when you say "add a date record". If you want to populate the value of a field (hopefully a date type if saving dates) in the subform with a date value, you can use code as such:

Forms!MyMainFormName!MySubFormName!MyDateField = Date()

When it comes to date fields, in almost all my date tables I will have a 'DateEntered' field (along with an 'EnteredBy' field). I then set the default value (on the form or subform) of this field to =Date() or =Now() so that whenever a new record is added, it defaults this value to the current date or date/time. For the 'EnteredBy' field, I set the default value using the getuser() method (ie. =getuser()). This then tells me 'who' entered that record and when. See the code bank if you are interested in the getuser() function which automatically grabs the user's loginID.

But I 'think' the answer you are looking for is geared towards how to populate a field value on a subform. I put a reference to the subform itself as the above example portrays. - again, Forms!MyMainFormName!MySubformName!MyDateFieldName = Date().

If you meant adding a new record itself in the subform by pushing a button on the main form, you can use code as such:

Forms!MyMainFormName!MySubformName.setfocus
    Docmd.gotorecord,,acnewrec
    Forms!MyMainFormName!MySubformName!MyDateFieldName = Date()
    ....(and code to populate other subform fields.)
    Last edited by pkstormy; 08-01-10 at 14:25.