Unanswered: Cascading combo boxes, stored field values

Hi,

I am relatively new to Access (no SQL experience).

My problem is pretty straightforward. I have a table of companies that I am classifying according to their Sector, Segment, and Subsegment. To do this, I have a set of 3 cascading combo boxes on an input form. These query the 3 tables (Sector, Segment, and Subsegment) to show appropriate category depending on user selection.

Each table contains ID and Name fields. For example, structure of the Sector table is as follows:
    SectorID: 1, SectorName: New Media
    SectorID: 2, SectorName: IT

The Segment table then expands on each sector:
    SectorID: 1, SegmentID: 1, SegmentName: Advertising
    SectorID: 1, SegmentID: 2, SegmentName: Video

The Subsegment table then further expands on the Segment:
    SegmentID: 1, SubsegmentID: 1, SubsegmentName: Ad network
    SegmentID: 1, SubsegmentID: 2, SubsegmentName: Ad exchange

Problem is, in order for the cascading combo boxes to work, I'm binding the Sector and Segment combo boxes to their ID fields, which results in the ID rather than their actual label getting stored into the Company record.

Consequently, when I later want try to display a Company record, I get the ID field instead of the Name field, e.g., 1 vs. "New Media" if user had originally selected "New Media" as the Sector.

This seems like a very simple problem. Any suggestions as to quickest and easiest way to resolve?

Many thanks,

Provided Answers: 6
    Storing the ID value is the normal method. To view the data on a report, base the report on a query that joins the two tables together on the ID field, enabling you to make the descriptive field available in the report.
    Paul

Can you be a bit more specific with the query criteria? How do I join the two tables together on the ID field?

Thanks -- I am a novice when it comes to Access so definitely appreciate the patience.