need a better db than access

Hey there all, i'm a bit of a noob, have been using access to run the database of a small org with about 400 contacts.
    Basically, it just hasn't been setup as perfectly as I need it to be, but I have realised I would rather learn a new better system than dig deeper into access to learn how to tweak it myself.

So i need something to help me with financial reporting, to handle about 10 different catagories of contacts.

Ideally for Mac, or Mac/PC

something simple is obviously what everyone wants, but i'm happy to have to work a bit harder under the hood for it to be intuitive for a new worker to use it.

It does not need to be in the cloud, as i am currently the only user of it, however it would be useful if I could add another user or 2.

We have a very LOW budget!!! our project runs on $55,000 a year and provides emergency accomodation/hospitality for 100+ people every year, so if I can buy something once it would suit me better than a yearly fee.

ok thanks guys! all reccomendations will be greatly appreciated!

what is wrong with Access?
    what makes you think its not appropriate for your purposes?
    bear in mind that Access itself is not a database engine.. its a RAD/User interface that can talk to many different types of data storage engine but the default is the JET engine.

if you are doing stuff for a charity / not for profit there are lots of things to bear in mind, not least budget. however one of the things that is the system needs to be designed in something that is appropriate for that organisation (not the developer) and needs to be in something that is pretty ubiquitous so it can be maintained in the medium to long term.

Access will not have a problem with 400 odd contacts and 3 or 4 users. it may have a problem with a couple of million contacts and / or 15..30 users depending on how its designed and what backing datastore you use.

as to budget