Thread: Find A Database

Unanswered: Find A Database

I'm new to databases but I see the need for them. I would like to get your opinions on database for the beginner. Since I'm new to this, I would need an user manual that is easy to understand (example, tutorials,...). What kind of database would you recommend for newbies like me?

Provided Answers: 59
    theres numerous types of databases that will run on a PC
    ranging from flat file through the likes of Btrive, Access Filemakers upto server prodcuts such as MySQL, SQL Server and so on.

theres two aspects tot he db world..
    theres the pure db part (which is the storage and manipulation of data)
    theres the from end the bit that allows you to talk to the database storage engine

if you are starting out in the db worlkd then semhtign Like Access may be a good solution. why beacuase its freely available. it realtively sheep and its pretty capable. despite what the nay sayers claim it can do most of whats required for small applications. I wouldnt' want to use it for 'mission critical' applications unless it was very carefully crafted.

if you just was a db then somethign like MySQL could fit the bill. its a pretty well featured server db

as to good books theres 'Simply SQL' from R937 of this parish.

theres hosts of basic books on SQL and whatever db you eventually decide to use. I'd check your local college to see if they have night classes on this sort of stuff and see what they use (you may be able to get an academic version of the software if you enroll.

there some good primers on database theory, particularly relational design, again r937 is a fount of knowledge. Oops -- r937.com.
    theres also a good piece by tony marsden
    http://www.r937.com/list.cfm?page=sql-articles
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

A database for a beginner, something easy to use.