Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233

    Unanswered: Cant see SQL Server with Client ODBC

    I have installed SQL Server 2008 on Windows Server 2003 OS and when I go to the client machine and try to access via an ODBC Driver I can not see any of the SQL Server 2008or any of its databases.

    I have on the server checked the SQL Server Browser is running.
    Shared Memory = Enabled
    TCP/IP = Enabled
    SQL Server is running

    I have with cmdprompt run OSQL -L and I cannot see the MS Server intance which I belive to be MSSQLServer that I checked in services where it is Started.

    Any ideas?
    HelpMePlease

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    Maybe Microsoft learned something about security in the last few upgrades. Try this instead;
    Code:
    osql /Syourservernamehere /E
    Last edited by MCrowley; 08-18-10 at 10:41. Reason: Fixed code tag

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    Quote Originally Posted by MCrowley View Post
    Maybe Microsoft learned something about security in the last few upgrades. Try this instead;
    Code:
    osql /Syourservernamehere /E
    I get a message saying Login failed for user

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    Go to the SQL Server machine, and if you have login failure auditing on, then you should see a record of the login failure in SQL Server's errorlog. If you have login failure auditing on, and there is no mention in the errorlog of the actual login failure, then this is likely a firewall problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    I don't think I have an option for Audit although I am not 100% sure where I should chek this?
    I am using SQL server 2008 standard.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    In SSMS right click on the server in the Object Explorer. Go to properties, then security. Login auditing should be in the middle somewhere.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    Ok in with you on there I have:

    Windows Authentication Checked
    and
    Failed Logins Only Checked

    Where can I view the report on this?

    Thanks for your patience

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    I have located the error log report using

    EXEC sp_readerrorlog

    Is this the correct way of doing so?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    I seem to be having the same problem.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    sp_readerrorlog is good enough. Try to log in from the remote client, then check the errorlog to see if a new failed login record comes up.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    Quote Originally Posted by smivers10 View Post
    Got it working, thanks guys.
    What did you do to get it working?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by MCrowley View Post
    Go to the SQL Server machine, and if you have login failure auditing on, then you should see a record of the login failure in SQL Server's errorlog. If you have login failure auditing on, and there is no mention in the errorlog of the actual login failure, then this is likely a firewall problem.
    Thanks MCrowley, this actually helps me out a lot.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by MCrowley View Post
    Go to the SQL Server machine, and if you have login failure auditing on, then you should see a record of the login failure in SQL Server's errorlog. If you have login failure auditing on, and there is no mention in the errorlog of the actual login failure, then this is likely a firewall problem.
    Thanks - Yup, dang firewall issue with me. That helped a lot.
    Amazing how things change and start going wrong when you have ZERO configuration management in your environment and work with a bunch of cowboys! (and yes, I'm part of the problem too)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •