Red face Unanswered: Slow Response Times

Hi,

I'm new to Informix, but I've got an instance (OLTP system) that has been performing fine for months now, but recently has be displaying slow repsonse times for any/all SQL queries executed on it. These queries are for CC authorisations, that require sub-second responses (typically around a 1/10th of a second), but recently they've been taking up for 12 seconds!!

Therefore, can someone please suggest where best to look for probable causes, as the AIX server is only running at 50% CPU/memory, and the other 14 Informix instances running on the prod server aren't having any performance issues. Our network team have ruled out any on the connection from the application <-> db server too.

thanks in advance.

true

running less cpu memory is additional action i found.

Quote Originally Posted by zaaylo View Post
    running less cpu memory is additional action i found.
    So are you saying to try running with less CPU memory? Would you mind clarifying your post for me please? Thanks.

Okay so you are having queries that are now much slower than before, right?
    Either this has to do with the connection having been influenced somehow, which your team ruled out though, or it has to be some internal things going on.
    I'm not that sophisticated yet, but could it have been that the queries have changed during the last time? Or tdid the server have an update? Did you change ANYTHING during the time between "querytime okay" and "querytime much too long"?
    Take a look at what could have changed and how those changes could have influenced the speed.
    Even if at the first sight a small change could not have done the damage, it's often those small things that make the difference.

Well, according to the network, application and AIX support teams, nothing has changed - hence why they all believe it's a database-related issue that's causing the degredation in performance.