Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Function that return a set of data.

Hello guys!

It's my first time to visit this forum. I've been learning PostgreSQL, and I find the DBMS quite challenging, as I come from an MSSQL background.

Question: Can anyone recommend good references about PostgreSQL user-defined functions that return a set of data?

I think it's not as easy to create "stored procedures" in PostgreSQL as it is in Microsoft SQL Server. But I'm still determined to learn it because PostgreSQL can address my needs at practically zero cost, compared to other proprietary DBMS's.

Thanks guys, and hoping for a response!

Provided Answers: 12
    Quote Originally Posted by evander View Post
    Question: Can anyone recommend good references about PostgreSQL user-defined functions that return a set of data?
    The manual?
    e.g. here: http://www.postgresql.org/docs/curre...ENTS-RETURNING

I think it's not as easy to create "stored procedures" in PostgreSQL as it is in Microsoft SQL Server.
    What do you mean with "easy"?
    The syntax might be a bit different, but then functions returning results are even better in PostgreSQL because they can be used like a table, e.g. you can append a WHERE condition:
    Code:
    SELECT *
    FROM my_function()
    WHERE some_column = 42
    AFAIK this is not possible with procedures returning result sets in MS SQL

Thanks Shammat!

I want to know the equivalent syntax of this MSSQL Stored Procedure:

Code:
    CREATE PROCEDURE uspContacts
         @ContactID bigint

AS

SELECT * FROM tblContacts WHERE ContactID = @ContactID
    I consider this stored procedure "simple" to construct. How does this translate to PostgreSQL?

Thanks in advance.

How does this translate to PostgreSQL?
    See the manual (I posted the link to an example)

And of course the examples for the CREATE FUNCTION statement:
    http://www.postgresql.org/docs/current/static/sql-createfunction.html

Code: