Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005

    Unanswered: Force users and application

    DB2 - DB2/Unix v9.5.0.1, 's080328', 'U814639', and Fix Pack '1'. 64bit
    OS - Aix

    When i want to force users and applications off the database what i do is:

    force application all

    but when i use the "list applications"

    I see users/applications still connected

    And i repeat "force application all" more number of times

    and finally when i see no output on "list applications"
    i restart the instance db2stop/db2start (but for this i have to really wait until all users/applications are disconnected which actually takes longer time)

    Is this normal procedure to force users/application - ie., repeating number of times?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    The database has to rollback the transaction to bring the database in a consistent state. Depending on the transaction this can take some time. Also it's possible that there are new connections/application after your last force command.

    If you want restart the database, i'ld suggest "db2stop force". This forces all the application and stops the database. Or you could quiesce the instance/database if you want to keep out users.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    It depends on the application, but a lot of application servers will automatically reconnect, which makes it harder to get rid of them with just one force command.

    I can't believe you are still on FP 1. You must be suicidal.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    As marcus said there is possibility that you application is using connection pooling in this case application will automatically reconnect.
    I have faced similer issue. then i used db2stop force to stop the database.
    Ritesh Kumar Singh
    IBM Certified DB2 DBA for LUW
    **Knowledge Is Theft If Not Shared !!**

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts