Unanswered: procedure input parameters

Hi,

I am new to oracle, have been working in sybase since long time. please help..

In stored procedures, how can I use input parameter same as column names in the table. Example my table has user_name as a column, I would like use same as input parameter like "user_name IN VARCHAR2" and my procedure code is like this:

UPDATE ADMIN_DATA set time = current_timestamp where user_name = username;

In sybase, we can use this with @ symbol like user_name = @username;
    Is this possible in Oracle?

Provided Answers: 4
    I can't tell for sure, but I think that you can't do that in Oracle.

I, for example, use certain "coding conventions" and precede parameter names with "par_" (so, in your case, it would be "par_user_name"). This also helps avoiding confusion (what a nightmare, having a table, column and parameter names the same!. What is what?).

Thanks for your reply.
    In my case, it is helpful to have this option in oracle too, as I am using spring framework and I pass the whole input values bean(converted to Map) to the procedures. i might have to redefine my beans or append "par_" to the keys while generating the map.

I think you are asking about bind variables. The @ symbol used in sybase sets up a bind variable for the SQL. Oracle allows for the same thing, but it happens implicitly in PLSQL.
    For example:
    Code:
    create or replace procedure lasttouch(p_user_name in varchar2) as
    begin

UPDATE ADMIN_DATA set time = sysdate where user_name = p_user_name;

end;
    /

exec lasttouch('dayneo');
    In the code above, the row in ADMIN_DATA that has the user_name of dayneo would be updated with the current system date and time. You will notice that I prefixed my parameter name using p_. This is so that oracle can distinguish between the column called user_name and the parameter. I could just as easily have used param_ as a prefix value, or any other value that I feel like.