Question Unanswered: putting a function in a table column

Here is my quandary. I have this Access 2003 database, and it records, for simplicity's sake, expiration dates. The expiration date column can contain null values.

Then, there is a column right next to it for "status". I want the value of that field to be either "Current", "Expiring Soon", "Expired", of "Missing" dependant on the expiration date in relation to Now().

I've never done anything like this before inside a table, I've always done it programmatically in front end applications, which isn't a problem, but these values are going to need to be determined by the database table its self, like... I'm not even sure how this is going to work.

DESIRED RESULT: Get a report of all the dates that are Expiring Soon. (and other similar reports).

So, this going to have to be something that... either is done in the background whenever the database is opened or..done... When the user elects a certain report (which I really don't want to do...it sounds really... resource hoggy).

Tips, suggestings, tricks, ideas, anyone. I'm all open.
    "Unix is user friendly... It's just very picky about its friends."

The best things in life...are well-documented.

Provided Answers: 14
    You can't because Access does not allow to base the contents of a column in a table on a user-defined function, and Access does not support triggers that would allow an automatic update of the computed column.

The closest solution would be to run an UPDATE query on the table every time the database is open, but it's on behalf of the front-end opening the database (or the table anyway).

Moreover, there is seldom a real good reason to store the result of a function (computed value) into a table. Such a value is dynamic (it can change more or less often) and is better handled "on the fly", when it's needed (Query, Form or Report).
    Have a nice day!

Provided Answers: 59