Having trouble with an ERD relationship between an EMPLOYEE, MANAGER, & DEPARTARTMENT

Hi,

Let me start by saying I am new to database design. I have been programming for 5 years now but recently felt like it would be of worth to learn about databases and database design. I picked up a few books and am now working my way through them. So without further ado, hear is my first question.

I am currently trying to understand and learn how to use the Entity Relationship Model. One of the books I am reading asks me to conceptualize a basic ERD showing the relationships between a Department, Employee, and Manager. The book offered me up these business rules….

• Each department has many employees, but each employee belongs to one department.
    • Each department is managed by one employee, and each of those managers can manage only one department.

My first atttempt

So what I am confused about is if a manager is an employee how do I represent that relatiomship.

Regards

Cjad

In your example, you've described two entities (employee, department) and two relationships (works in, manages). There's no reason two entities can't have more than one relationship between them.

Quote Originally Posted by futurity View Post
    In your example, you've described two entities (employee, department) and two relationships (works in, manages). There's no reason two entities can't have more than one relationship between them.
    I might be thinking to far ahead but what happens if when employee becomes a manager he/she has more attributes to be considered. Does not that call for the third entity?

Regards

Chad

In general, you'll want to look at a technique called subtyping to see how to handle situations like this.