Unanswered: Questions on genealogy schema

I'm putting together a genealogy site for my extended family using MySQL and PHP, and am beginning with establishing a db schema. Was hoping some folks would be willing to take a look and advise me, as I'm not a database pro though have been getting comfortable with MySQL lately. But the relational aspect of schemas is still a little bit of a mystery to me.

I posted a visual representation of the schema here:http://edgeis.com/graphics/projects/database-schema.png

I'll try and attach a PDF also.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by mike_bike_kite; 09-22-10 at 03:07. Reason: improved thread title

I suggest use of mapping tables for representing many-to-many relations.
    Cheers....

baburajv

Can you give me an example using my schema?

assuming that the relatives and events entities have many to many relationship

( one relative participate in many events and one event has many relatives as participants),

i suggest use of a third table

"eventparticipants" with two columns

eventid (referring to events table PK)
    relativeid (referring to relatives table PK)

NOTE: i assume (looking at the column "participants" in events table) that you are representing multipleparticipants for an event in this column. correct me if my understanding is wrong.
    Cheers....

baburajv

Is there a reason for this thread to be called "bistif 1888-3"? The aim of forums is to not only to provide you with an answer to your particular problem but also to allow others to search for solutions to their own problems. Having threads titled like this stops this process.

babura,

Thanks--you're correct, there would be multiple participants in an event, and they would be identified by the "relative_id" number referenced in the "relatives" table.

So you think I should have a number of additional "mapping tables"?

What is the advantage of that? Not doubting your advice, just want to understand the concept behind it.

Mike,