Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    111

    Unanswered: DB2 Administration client.

    Hello,
    Current system -DB2 Version 8.2 /Windown 2003

    In our application server, we are having DB2 Administration client V8.2 which connects to DB2 8.2 Database server.

    Is it possible to install the DB2 9.7 Administration Client in seperate folder in Same application saver?

    Then I have to connect from 9.7 Adminstration client to our new DB2 9.7 database which is in the seperate server.

    Please advise me.

    Thanks, Valan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    This is a tricky question because in 8.2, you can only have one Windows version at a time, but with 9.7 you can have multiple versions at one time. My experience in trying your exact situation did not work out well, but there may be a way to do it.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    I don't think you need to keep two copies of the admin client - you should be able to work with both servers using the 9.7 client.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    111

    Multiple version of db2 admin client can not be run ?

    So...multiple version of db2 administration client (V8.2 & 9.7) can not be run in one machine.

    Is it correct?

    I have been looking more information about this on inforcentre, but I could not see anything yet.
    Please send me the link if you know already.

    Thanks, valan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,368
    Check section "Migrating the DB2 Administration Server (DAS)"

    You can have only one DAS per computer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    111
    Hello Bella,
    I am little bit confused now.
    I wish to know that can I run multiple version of db2 administration client in one machine. Not the DAS.

    Currently I am having 8.2 administration client. I am looking to install 9.7 client in a seperate folder on the same machine. (I dont want to upgrade the 8.2 client).
    Because we have got two seperate databases in individual machine v8.2 and v9.7.

    Please correct me if i am wrong.

    Thanks, Valan.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    335
    It looks like no one tested to install both Client Version on one box. Me neither.
    On Windows DB2 uses the Global Environment Variables. Even if you install both Clients you'ld have to switch these Variables maunally.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,368
    Quote Originally Posted by dgunas View Post
    I wish to know that can I run multiple version of db2 administration client in one machine. Not the DAS.
    Sorry, I misread your question

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •