Data Centralization, Advice Needed

Dear Sirs et Madames,
    I have recently been asked to combine an institutes varied and disparate health and demographic data sources into a centralized database which can be (eventually) queried via a query interface. Am trying to design the schema at the moment but would be glad of some advice before I move forward (My background is more as a Java programmer, I have never had to spend a significant amount of time on the database side of things). Scenario:

I have 3 applications which are the sources of data, HRS1, the original Data Collection application,HRS2 an upgrade of the original application (the data model changes somewhat) and the third is completely separate new application (OpenHDS) written in a different language (Java) and using MySQL as the database (the first 2 use VisualFoxPro), and the datamodel once again changes.

An additional complication is that the institute has several Demographic Surveillance sites. Over time, some sites have added columns to certain tables in order for them to capture more information , and as such most tables will have variations across site even when the datacollection application was the same. As an example let me just look at the Individual table from 2 separate sites:

HRS1 (Site A) Individual:

PERM_ID
    REGION
    OLD_REG
    FAMILY_NUM
    MEMBER_NUM
    NAME
    SEX
    BIRTH_DATE
    RELATIONSHIP_TO_HEAD
    MOTHER_ID
    FATHER_ID
    HUSBAND_ID
    ENTRY_TYPE
    ENTRY_DATE
    IS_PRESENT
    EXIT_TYPE
    EXIT_DATE
    FIELD_WRKR
    DATA_CLERK
    DATAENTRY_DATE
    STATUS_DAT
    HRS1 (Site 2) Individual:

PERM_ID
    REGION
    FAMILY_NUM
    MEMBER_NUM
    NAME
    SEX
    BIRTH_DATE
    RELATIONSHIP_TO_HEAD
    MOTHER_ID
    FATHER_ID
    HUSBAND_ID
    OCCUPATION
    OCCUPATION_OTHER
    EDUCATION
    ENTRY_TYPE
    ENTRY_DATE
    EXIT_TYPE
    EXIT_DATE
    FIELD_WRKR
    DATA_CLERK
    DATAENTRY_DATE
    STATUS_DAT
    MARRIED
    MARRIED_OTHER