Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31

    Unanswered: RMAN duplicate db problem

    Hi

    i want to create a standby db from our production system. But i have a problem with using RMAN. And i don´t know how to handle this error. I started the standby db with "startup nomount" and the using this command on the primary db

    target / auxiliary sys/4telvor8@vcenter_vc0

    Recovery Manager: Release 11.2.0.1.0 - Production on Wed Sep 29 15:50:31 2010

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2009, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.

    connected to target database: VCENTER (DBID=2289149526)
    connected to auxiliary database: VCENTER (not mounted)

    RMAN> duplicate target database
    2> for standby
    3> from active database
    4> spfile PARAMETER_VALUE_CONVERT '/vcenter_vc1/' , '/vcenter_vc0/'
    5> set DB_UNIQUE_NAME="vcenter_vc0"
    6> set LOG_FILE_NAME_CONVERT '/vcenter_vc1/' , '/vcenter_vc0/'
    7> set DB_FILE_NAME_CONVERT '/vcenter_vc1/' , '/vcenter_vc0/'
    8> dorecover;

    Starting Duplicate Db at 29-SEP-10
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-03002: failure of Duplicate Db command at 09/29/2010 16:00:36
    RMAN-05537: DUPLICATE without TARGET connection when auxiliary instance is started with spfile cannot use SPFILE clause

    My problem is how to start the auxiliary instance with a client file and not with a spfile. I think that is the problem, isn´t it?
    Any help was appreciated....THX
    Kind regards
    ACID1943

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Have you tried this?:


    Oracle Error :: RMAN-05537

    DUPLICATE without TARGET connection when auxiliary instance is started with spfile cannot use SPFILE clause
    Cause

    A DUPLICATE was attempted when the auxiliary database was started with a server parameter file and the SPFILE sub-clause was specified. RMAN cannot restore the server parameter file if the auxiliary database is already started with a server parameter file.
    Action

    Start the auxiliary database with a client parameter file or do not specify SPFILE sub-clause and retry.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi

    yes i read this...

    Start the auxiliary database with a client parameter file or do not specify SPFILE sub-clause and retry.

    but how i can change that? So that the server / database starts with client parameter instead of spfile?

    Kind regards
    ACID1943

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool Where is init.ora?

    Quote Originally Posted by ACID1943 View Post
    but how i can change that? So that the server / database starts with client parameter instead of spfile?
    a) You create an init.ora parameter file with the specifications you need.
    b) Start database with: STARTUP ....PFILE=???/init.ora
    c) Remove lines 4 - 7 (four to seven) from your duplicate statement.
    d) Pray it works...
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi

    ok i can duplicate with following command

    duplicate target database to vcenter from active database nofilenamecheck

    it end with no errors. Connecting as sqlplus sys/4telvor8@vcenter_vcX works on both nodes and i start dg_broker on both nodes.

    But when i want to configure the dg_broker i got the following error

    dgmgrl
    DGMGRL for Linux: Version 11.2.0.1.0 - 64bit Production

    Copyright (c) 2000, 2009, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Welcome to DGMGRL, type "help" for information.
    DGMGRL> connect sys/4telvor8@vcenter_vc1
    Connected.
    DGMGRL> create configuration vcenter_vc1 as
    > primary database is vcenter_vc1
    > connect identifier is vcenter_vc1;
    Error: ORA-16642: DB_UNIQUE_NAME mismatch

    Failed.

    Any ideas how to fix that error?
    THX in advance!
    ACID1943

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Posts
    2,713

    Cool Chk tnsnames.ora

    Code:
    ORA-16642: db_unique_name mismatch
    Cause:   The expected db_unique_name value did not match the actual
             db_unique_name value for the database that the broker contacted
             using the connect identifier that was associated with that database.
    Action:  Verify that the connect identifier correctly connects to the
             intended database. Verify that the name of the database that
             the broker expects to find via that connect identifier matches
             the actual db_unique_name for that database.
    The person who says it can't be done should not interrupt the person doing it. -- Chinese proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    I solved it with create new database with different name and now duplication and dgmgrl works also perfect....

    thx and regards
    ACID1943

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •