Unanswered: How to set up a subscriber based database?

Hi,

I have a database that I would like to sell on a mobile app store but would like to make it subscriber based, that is after signing up a person a empty database would be created and only he could access. So if I signed up a 1000 users there would be 1000 empty databases created. I was thinking that 1 big database could be used and after signing up a person an empty version of the database could be created .

I really don't have a clue as to where to start. I am used to a single user environment. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank You

Provided Answers: 1
    There is an in-between solution wherein you can store who is allowed to modify what records without physically separating the storage mechanism itself...
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Hi,
    I am really new to this. After a new user is registered a new empty database is created that only he has access to . I don't see any interaction is needed on my part. I must be missing something very general. Are online subscriber databases hard or expensive to set up? I can create a stand alone database on a mobile device. The problem is when using a PC the user's data is on the device not in the cloud.

Thank You

Hi,

I have developed some mobile device applications and typically what we do is to create a single table with fields that identify perhaps a group level access. Any individual may be placed into a group and as a result would have access to that piece of information. So you would need the main table containing your data along with a group access identifier, a user id table and a user id to group mapping.
    Ronan Cashell
    Certified Oracle DBA/Certified MySQL Expert (DBA & Cluster DBA)
    http://www.it-iss.com
    Follow me on Twitter

Hi,