Unanswered: Informix Help Requested!

Hi Database Experts :-)

I have a tricky issue which I need some help with.

I have a client who has a rather large Informix Database backup file the
    header reads:

"Archive Backup Tape Informix Universal Server Version 9.14.UC6"

Said client used to create these files in a folder called "/dbback/" on a
    solaris box (Unknown release/version etc), I've been asked to see if I can
    restore the archive to a new server, then extract the data from the restored
    tables into a different server not running informix.

My problem is I'm no DBA person, I'm a dev who also happens to have time
    served server admin skills, I know enough SQL to do standard crud stuff and
    write apps around it on most platforms, but beyond that .. knowing the
    specifics is not really my strong point.

My question is this, does anyone know of a way that I can retrieve the data
    from the backup file, even if it's all as just CSV/Ascii i really don't care,
    attaching the file back onto the original server it was generated from is out
    of the question beacuse it does not exist any more, it has shall we say met
    it's maker.

I have the free informix developer version installed on my windows X64 box,
    and that has ontape/onbar etc (Which I believe where used to create the
    backup previously) , so would it be possible to use any thing in that install
    to assist me?

If I have to, I really don't have a problem with writing an app to open the
    database archive directly, if someone knows of a source of technical info
    that describes the files format.

I'm stuck against a brick wall here, any ideas to get past it would be
    greatfully welcomed.

Many thanks

Shawty

I think there is only one way to do this:
    Install a IDS 9.14.UC6 with same OS, restore Backup, make a DBExport, insert the export into another database.

How big is your backup?
    WilhelmW

I have 2 backups, but the one I'm trying to restore is 213Mb+