Unanswered: Security: Front End vs. Back End

** Disclaimer -- I'm not an IS person! I'm an aerospace engineer who is quickly becoming the company's SQL expert

I'm starting to think about the security scheme for the database I'm developing. Database is in SQL Server. Front Ends could be Access, web pages in a SharePoint site, stand alone clients in C#, or even Excel. We're still working on what option gives us the best user experience for what we need.

Security only needs to be restricted on a per-table basis, not per column or row. i.e. Finance folks are the only ones that have access to the tables containing finance data, but if they have access they can RW ANYTHING in that table. We have AD in the company, so windows authentication is an option.

My IS guy said that best practice dictates that all security should be done on the front end, and never in the back end. In fact, he feels that the best solution is to go entirely through SharePoint, and let SharePoint be the security gate keeper - even for front ends that involve Access or Excel.

I had expected that implementing security through the back end (i.e. SQL server) made the most sense - after all SQL Server seems to have some very nice facilities for users/logins/roles/etc.

I'd appreciate opinions and/or pointers to online discussions on this subject. As I mentioned up top, I am getting a pretty good handle on database design and SQL in general, but I really have no good feeling for security.
    Carlos

security for backend

Carlson,

Am sure you already have login password for the user. For you to prevent some expert user for the database is may to use some triggers to prevent data deletion or update.

see this trigger i used recently

create TRIGGER updatecustbal ON cust
    INSTEAD OF update,delete
    AS
    BEGIN
    RAISERROR ('No Editing Of this fields',16,1)
    ---RETURN 50000
    END

Cheers

Psigei,