Unanswered: I asked a new coworker why they don't backup the DB, he said it is too big(!)

We have a production DB that is 1.6 Terrabytes. The disk got corrupted yesterday and the DB was down all day waiting for the DB to recover. I am new to this company and I am still trying to understand their processes. I asked him why we are not taking backups or having backups taken for us at the colo. He said it was too big and it would take too long.

Granted the first backup may take a while, but couldn't we just take incremental backups after the initial? I asked about SAN and he said even with SAN we have a problem since you need to "pause" the DB in order to take the snapshot (I am not too familiar with SAN at all and I am not sure how long this "pause" would need to be for a DB this large).

What are our options? He claimed it was ok if this DB was down for 5 days, however the business people at our office could not get some reports for clients so I am starting to think it would be a problem if it was down for 5 days.

Have they tested backup compression software? Using multiple filegroups?
    Is this a transactional database? Is it unimportant?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

Hi pootle,

Recover mode is set to simple, there is 1 file group. When we were having disk issues I asked if they had a raid setup and got this response:

On their side it is. Fiber/3par

The recovery model doesn't really matter much - to some schedule or other full BUs are required unless you want to restore baszzilions of files at a time.

I admit I haven't ever needed to backup file groups so I haven't used this in prod.
    How to: Back Up Files and Filegroups (Transact-SQL)

We do backup databases just under 1TB using backup compression software - the native backups were taking too long too. We backup to locally attached storage.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump

Provided Answers: 11