View Poll Results: Did you ever come across this type of error ?

Voters
4. You may not vote on this poll
  • No

    3 75.00%
  • Yes, but not in the above mentioned context.

    0 0%
  • Yes, I have come across the same error, in the same context. I failed to resolve it.

    0 0%
  • Yes, I have come across the same error, in the same context. I have resolved it successfully.

    1 25.00%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: Error SQL1224N and SQLSTATE=55032.

    Hello everybody.

    I am new to DB2.
    I have created a database(XXXXXXX)through DB2CA and I am trying to connect to it through TCPIP.
    In TCPIP settings, I have used Hostname as localhost and port number as 50000(the default port).
    When i am trying to test the connection, I am getting an error(SQL1224N) followed by the SQLSTATE=55032.( You can see the screenshot of error message )

    Please let me know how to resolve this error.

    Thank you for any help in advance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Test Connection- Output (1).bmp  
    Last edited by prabhakar.9885; 10-22-10 at 12:50.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Are you trying to create a database, or create a connection to an existing database? DB2 Configuration Assistant cannot be used to create a new database (only to create a connection to a db).

    You can use Control Center for creating a new database, assuming there is already an instance, and you can attach to the instance or connect to an existing database in that instance before trying to create a new database.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by prabhakar.9885 View Post
    Hello everybody.

    I am new to DB2.
    I have created a database(XXXXXXX)through DB2CA and I am trying to connect to it through TCPIP.
    In TCPIP settings, I have used Hostname as localhost and port number as 50000(the default port).
    When i am trying to test the connection, I am getting an error(SQL1224N) followed by the SQLSTATE=55032.( You can see the screenshot of error message )

    Please let me know how to resolve this error.

    Thank you for any help in advance.
    I have never encountered this problem before but I guess you have to start your DB Manager.
    Last edited by Rajesh1203; 10-22-10 at 17:30.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,368
    What's up with this poll?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
    Posts
    7

    how to resolve the errors, SQL30081N and SQLSTATE=08001?

    Quote Originally Posted by Marcus_A View Post
    Are you trying to create a database, or create a connection to an existing database? DB2 Configuration Assistant cannot be used to create a new database (only to create a connection to a db).

    You can use Control Center for creating a new database, assuming there is already an instance, and you can attach to the instance or connect to an existing database in that instance before trying to create a new database.
    Thank you for the info.
    Actually I was creating a connection for a database which was not existing.

    Now, I am trying to create a connection to an already existing database(Sample).
    For this
    • I have set the SVCENAME in DBM Configuration to db2c_DB2

    • I made sure that the entry db2c_DB2 50000/tcp, is present in the file C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\services

    • I have added an instance, DB2COMM to the DB2 Registry and set its value to TCPIP

    • Then after, I created a connection to the Sample database with the following settings:
      Protocol= TCPIP
      HostName = locahost
      portNumber = 50000
      DataBase = sample
      DataBaseAlias = SAMPLEXX
      DataSourceName= SAMPLEXX
      InstanceName= DB2
      OperatingSystem= Windows
      SecurityOptions= Use authentication value in server's DBM Configuration.


    When I am trying to test the connection I am getting the error, SQL30081N with the sql state as SQLSTATE=08001.
    You can view the error-message in the below screenshot.


    ---
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails TestConnection_trial2.bmp  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,368
    I don't understand why you need to execute all those steps. sample is a local db on your server. Correct? Why did you need to catalog an alias samplexx? Just open DB2 Command Window, execute "db2start" to start the instance and then "db2 connect to sample"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by db2girl View Post
    I don't understand why you need to execute all those steps. sample is a local db on your server. Correct? Why did you need to catalog an alias samplexx? Just open DB2 Command Window, execute "db2start" to start the instance and then "db2 connect to sample"
    If the Sample database is on my local system, I can connect to it by using the command db2 "connect to sample".

    But, what if, my database is residing on some remote system?
    In that case, If that remote system is a part of the network, to which I am connected to, I can establish a connection(by following the 4 step process which I have used) and access that database.

    I have made all the required settings for establishing a connection( as the database sample is residing on my local system, I am using localhost as hostName and portNumber as 50000, which is the default port number ), but am getting an error, when i am testing the connection.

    For learning more about establishing connections watch the db2 on campus video.


    ----
    Last edited by prabhakar.9885; 10-24-10 at 09:19.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,368
    Here is what I've done:

    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 catalog tcpip node local remote localhost server 50000
    DB20000I The CATALOG TCPIP NODE command completed successfully.
    DB21056W Directory changes may not be effective until the directory cache is refreshed.


    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 catalog db sample as lsample at node local
    DB20000I The CATALOG DATABASE command completed successfully.
    DB21056W Directory changes may not be effective until the directory cache is refreshed.



    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 connect to lsample
    SQL30082N Security processing failed with reason "3" ("PASSWORD MISSING").
    SQLSTATE=08001


    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 connect to lsample user xxxxx
    Enter current password for xxxxx:

    Database Connection Information

    Database server = DB2/NT 9.5.0
    SQL authorization ID = xxxxx
    Local database alias = LSAMPLE


    -- stop the instance on purpose

    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2stop
    10/24/2010 09:09:36 0 0 SQL1064N DB2STOP processing was successful.
    SQL1064N DB2STOP processing was successful.

    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 connect to lsample
    SQL30081N A communication error has been detected. Communication protocol
    being used: "TCP/IP". Communication API being used: "SOCKETS". Location
    where the error was detected: "127.0.0.1". Communication function detecting
    the error: "connect". Protocol specific error code(s): "10061", "*", "*".
    SQLSTATE=08001


    If you like to watch DB2 videos, you may also like the following:
    IBM Education Assistant - Information Management software

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by db2girl View Post
    Here is what I've done:

    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 catalog tcpip node local remote localhost server 50000
    DB20000I The CATALOG TCPIP NODE command completed successfully.
    DB21056W Directory changes may not be effective until the directory cache is refreshed.


    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 catalog db sample as lsample at node local
    DB20000I The CATALOG DATABASE command completed successfully.
    DB21056W Directory changes may not be effective until the directory cache is refreshed.



    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 connect to lsample
    SQL30082N Security processing failed with reason "3" ("PASSWORD MISSING").
    SQLSTATE=08001


    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 connect to lsample user xxxxx
    Enter current password for xxxxx:

    Database Connection Information

    Database server = DB2/NT 9.5.0
    SQL authorization ID = xxxxx
    Local database alias = LSAMPLE


    -- stop the instance on purpose

    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2stop
    10/24/2010 09:09:36 0 0 SQL1064N DB2STOP processing was successful.
    SQL1064N DB2STOP processing was successful.

    D:\Program Files\IBM\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 connect to lsample
    SQL30081N A communication error has been detected. Communication protocol
    being used: "TCP/IP". Communication API being used: "SOCKETS". Location
    where the error was detected: "127.0.0.1". Communication function detecting
    the error: "connect". Protocol specific error code(s): "10061", "*", "*".
    SQLSTATE=08001


    If you like to watch DB2 videos, you may also like the following:
    IBM Education Assistant - Information Management software


    Thanks for the video Link.
    I can see that you have tried for connecting to the database in similar manner as I did.( but, by executing some queries, which was very impressive).
    And, you also got the same error message.

    But, now my problem is solved.( Screenshot of output: Connection established.bmp )
    Now I am able to connect to sampleXX successfully, without making any settings.

    The error occurred because, previously when I am trying to establish a connection, the portNo 50000 was not open. And so, as the port is not available, I got the error message.
    Still I don't know how to fix that error(manually).
    The error got fixed by itself.

    Once refer to this link for details regarding the error message.

    Please let me know if you find any solution to fix that error.

    In your queries,
    You have executed db2stop and forgot to start it again.
    You start the db2 and then, try to establish the connection. Screenshot of he output that I got on executing the queries that you replied me: tryIt.bmp.



    ------
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Connection established.bmp   tryIt.bmp  
    Last edited by prabhakar.9885; 10-24-10 at 15:56.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5

    Resolution to SQL1224N.....SQLSTATE=55032 Problem

    A reboot would probably solve your problem, assuming a reboot is possible in your environment. If you can't reboot because it is a production server, I can
    only suggest a db2stop followed by a db2start but I don't guarantee that
    this will work.
    -1224 is usually not good!! It's a trap most probably because of
    memory corruption and it brings the db2 instance down so it stops the
    db2 anyway. Do you run your function unfenced? If so switch to fenced.
    May be you can also try to look at the trap files.
    Or
    This is typically caused by old/invalid jvm levels. Make sure you're
    using a supported jdk level, and move up to the latest version.

    Associated link -
    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...sql01224n.html

    Thanks,
    Tapas

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,368
    Quote Originally Posted by tapas16880 View Post
    A reboot would probably solve your problem, assuming a reboot is possible in your environment. If you can't reboot because it is a production server, I can
    only suggest a db2stop followed by a db2start but I don't guarantee that
    this will work.
    -1224 is usually not good!! It's a trap most probably because of
    memory corruption and it brings the db2 instance down so it stops the
    db2 anyway. Do you run your function unfenced? If so switch to fenced.
    May be you can also try to look at the trap files.
    Or
    This is typically caused by old/invalid jvm levels. Make sure you're
    using a supported jdk level, and move up to the latest version.

    Associated link -
    IBM DB2 9.5 Information Center for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    Thanks,
    Tapas

    I don't see how the original problem reported here can be due to a trap, fenced/unfenced or some other items you mentioned.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Never catalog on the server.

    The most common -1224 error. If you did, uncatalog and recatalog WITHOUT node information. With node info, you're telling the software to hitch up to a train on another track. The db2syscs process will go nuts and eat your RAM for breakfast.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •