Database Design review please!

Hello, I am new to both the DBForum community and to Databases themselves. I am taking a relational database course online (dumb idea) and seem to be struggling with some of the concepts. I was wondering if someone could look it over and see if it makes any sense? thanks a ton!
    Last edited by georgebluff; 10-25-10 at 07:47.

Quote Originally Posted by georgebluff View Post
    ... and seem to be struggling with some of the concepts.
    which ones?
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Most of it seems confusing, but in particular Foreign Keys. If you look at the ERD I post, my section part seems to have multiple Foreign Keys. Should the Faculty_Id a foreign key, or should it just be part of the section? When you looked at my ERD, did everything seem to be correctly related?

When you looked at my ERD, did everything seem to be correctly related?
    that's pretty hard to say without any information from you

an entity-relationship diagram is "correct" only insofar as it properly reflects the actual (or desired) characteristics of the data you are modelling
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca

The ERD that I created is modeling a database for a student registering for courses offered by a college or university. I am not sure if I'm suppose to start creating relationships around the Student_Id, or other entities that exist in the process of registering for a courses.

do you know how to distinguish between an entity and an attribute of an entity?
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca

I thought an entity refers to an item that can be tracked and described in the database, and the attribute was information describing the entity. As for example in my ERD, the attributes of the Faculty were LName, FName, ect...,
    but in Section, I thought that to have the Faculty related to the Section, I could just call the primary key Faculty_Id as an foreign key to the section, so that it would list if Faculty_Id within the Section entity.