Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need a macro

Unanswered: Need a macro

If anyone knows of a simple macro that can enable my users to open a form from a separate form that contains a combo box...and open it to a specific record on the form based on their selection...please let me know....

I forgot to mention that my combo box lists "last name", "first name", "middle initial", and each comes from it's own field....(if that makes any sense)....I'm not sure if that has anything to do with how the macro should be done.

Thanks in advance.

Provided Answers: 6
    If you can use VBA code instead of a macro:

Open a second form to the record

The OpenForm macro has a similar argument.
    Paul

Thanks Paul. Can you write the code for me? I have no experience in VBA and don't know where to begin.

I guess the questions now that I have are as follows:

You gave me the following as an example:

DoCmd.OpenForm "SecondFormName", , , "FieldName = " & Me.ControlName

Which would translate to me as:

DoCmd.OpenForm "MainForm", , , "FieldName = Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial" (I'm not sure about this)...

Where do I enter this code...is this under "code builder"? When it asks for "FieldName", what would go in there if I have a combo box that contains separate fields such as last name, First name, middle initial? Do I need to put the commas in the code as you have above. And what is & Me.ControlName?
    Last edited by akanick; 10-29-10 at 14:26. Reason: more detail

DoCmd.OpenForm [formName as string], acNormal, WhereCondition:="RecordID = "& Me.ComboBox.Colum(i)
    No time like the present to start learning.

I did write the code; all you have to do is substitute your names. If you don't know where the code goes:

First VBA
    Paul

Perhaps I'm not clear with my question.