Unanswered: Can Access send me "Past Due" Alerts?

Hi all,

I'm new to Access (2010) and hoping to set it up to handle all my small business financials.

I'm studying how to use the program right now, but one question I would like to know right away is if Access can be easily setup to alert me of past due accounts. Ideally I would punch in the invoice date, and if the invoice was not marked "paid" within, say 15 days, Access would notify me via popup or email that the invoice had not been marked as paid yet. A 2nd delinquent notice at 30 days would be extra nice.

Is this something that Access can do without advanced programming?

Provided Answers: 14
    This will require some programming, but it's rather easily doable.

You'll need to select the invoice, compare the date of payment (you'll need one, probably in the Invoice table) with the current date (using DateDiff() function, for instance) and see if the result lies within a certain range (15 days in your question). According to the result, you can call a function to send an email, display a message box or perform any action you see fit.
    Have a nice day!

Thanks, is there any way to have fully automated alerts? If I am required to select the invoice, then a manual scan for payment would actually be faster than the alert.

out on a limb
    Provided Answers: 59
    assuming you can structure your requirement as a question, then converting that into a query should be possible. often the hardest part is clearly and unambiguosly structuring the question.

depending on how that question is converted into a query depends on how easy it is to automate.