Thread: Treypick

Unanswered: Treypick

I have a database with 3 tables. One table is named users, one is named auth, and the other is named password. I am trying to build a login form with 3 fields, User name, Auth, and Password. I want to type the info in each field. The hope is not to be forced to use a combo box. Just about any sample code that I have found downloads with an mdb extension. I am using access 2010 with database extension accdb. Any help in finding code for a login form or suggestions will be very much appreciated. As you can tell I am just learning access

Provided Answers: 6
    For starters, why do you have 3 tables? It sounds like you'd want a single "Users" table, which would include fields for the user's password and auth (which I assume is some sort of authorization level). In any case, the same code you've found in MDB samples should also work in ACCDB format.
    Paul

Treypick

I misspoke regarding the tables. I have 1 table with 3 categories. The following code is from an mdb format file. It works in the original mdb format file but not in the accdb format. The little menu has 2 unbound fields and I am using a control to implement the code?????

Option Compare Database

Private Sub CancelButton_Click()

End Sub

'Private Sub CancelButton_Click()
    'DoCmd****nCommand acCmdExit
    'End Sub

Private Sub okButton_Click()
    Dim rs As ADODB.Recordset
    Set rs = New ADODB.Recordset
    If IsNull(Me.UserTxt) Then
    MsgBox "Please enter a valid user name.", vbExclamation, "Error"
    Me.UserTxt.SetFocus
    Exit Sub
    ElseIf IsNull(Me.PassTxt) Then
    MsgBox "Please enter a valid password.", vbExclamation, "Error"
    Me.PassTxt.SetFocus
    Exit Sub
    End If
    rs.Open "SELECT * FROM tblUser WHERE(UserName = """ & Me.UserTxt & """ AND Pass = """ & Me.PassTxt & """)", _
    CurrentProject.Connection, adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic
    If rs.EOF Then