Thread: Future of SQL

Future of SQL

I keep hearing this talk of SQL scalability is really going to be it's downfall in the end, and how Java+XML solutions are on the rise.

Is this a bad time to be studying to do Database Development? Especially if SQL is going to go by the wayside?

I've also heard of Non-relational Databases may be the future too? But im skeptical because it seems like so many small companies rely on SQL to store records and such. Im studying T-SQL right now since there seems to be alot of jobs that use MS SQL Server 05/08 but am I wasting my time? Is SQL end coming to a close soon?

Quote Originally Posted by Mercfh View Post
    ... but am I wasting my time?
    no

Is SQL end coming to a close soon?
    depends what you mean by "soon"

before you reach retirement age? not likely

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

where do you think all these articles talking about these things are getting these "ideas" from?

where do you think all these articles talking about these things are getting these "ideas" from?
    from mars... or maybe uranus
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca

It boils down to a simple case of "follow the money" in my opinion. Articles exist to make money... Normally for the author, but always for the publisher.

If an article can persude you to buy more articles (in this case by convincing the reader that some new technology is "the coming thing"), then that article effectively sells additional articles on that new technology.

I work with non-relational databases, relational databases, and XML every day. I've never been a big Java fan, and am even less of a fan now that Java is an Oracle product... Any time any vendor owns a "standard", the standard itself has been compromised and it becomes just another product in the marketplace.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan View Post